Blog – Lost Russian Family

Resource: https://lostrussianfamily.wordpress.com/about/

Hello,

Too many activities are on my plate, all seemingly important.  Yet, I can’t let completely go of the Lost Russian Family either.

Here’s how I got to this new resource: White Russian Emigres From China (Facebook Page) led me to The White Russian Database page (http://swolkov.org/index.htm) and then to this  Lost Russian Family blog (https://lostrussianfamily.wordpress.com/about/).

I think this site has a lot of interesting parts to explore and I’ve just begun.

Now a small anecdote about looking for lost family that may be useful or thoughtful to others:

Poking around the internet I found a photo of a Great Great Uncle (a Priest) which led me to try to find some of his descendants.  I communicated with one person, and then another who then forwarded me to a grouchy middle aged Russian man (in Russia) who was supposedly knowledgeable about Russian Priests from that area.  The brief communications I had with him was like being in an abusive relationship.  If I didn’t respond fast enough to his emails (overnight), he aggressively threatened to drop communication.

I finally let that contact go, thankful he was not energetic enough to be vindictive.  But it seemed clear to me that Mr. Grouchy had come from a difficult background perhaps of neglect, trauma, or abuse resulting in severe trust issues.  I was dealing with some similar stuff at that time, so it was easy to recognize.

The second part of this story is that I had already found two descendants. I shared that link in my communications with Mr. Grouchy. The supposed relatives (two of them) were on a forum spewing competing anti-tolerant (according to my google translation interpretation) arguments at each other. Later, before Mr. Grouchy, dropped communication, he said that both of these characters were family descendants. Although he was not specific about the connection to me it seemed clear that one of them was a relative of my Great Great Uncle’s.

After all that, I stopped looking online for lost family information for a while.  Sometimes curiosity kills your curiosity.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment